民事和商业诉讼

我们为各种商业纠纷提供民事或商业类的诉讼服务。我们的律师曾成功代表客户处理以下事宜:

  • 经理、董事和股东的强迫类声明

  • 股票价值纠纷

  • 合伙事宜纠纷

  • 董事和经理责任索赔

  • 违反信托义务的索赔

  • 违约索赔

  • 欺诈和共谋索赔

  • 工程与房地产诉讼

  • 商业租赁纠纷

  • 破产、清算和收款问题

  • 解除禁制令

 

我们的团队致力于为客户的问题寻找高效、低成本的解决方案,使您能够专注于企业的运营和成功。

如果您有涉及民事和商业诉讼的问题,请与我们的诉讼团队联系。如果你想预约一个特定的从事民事诉讼和商业诉讼的律师,请告知我们和李黎律师沈辰律师或者陈弘翰律师约见。

常见问题

Q: 刑事案件和民事案件有什么区别?

A: 在刑事案件中,通常由检察官代表政府对一个或多个被告进行起诉,量刑。 而民事案件中,一般由两个或两个以上自然人或法人试图通过谈判,或依赖争议解决机制(例如法院诉讼,仲裁和调解)来解决纠纷

Q: 什么是时效期限(Limitation Period)?

A: 时效期限限制了您依赖法律系统处理事务的时间,例如您对另一人提起诉讼或执行判决。 根据实际因素的不同(例如,您要起诉的当事人,或您首次发现诉讼案件的时间),实际的时效期限也会不同。 遵守时效期限对于案件本身和您的个人利益都至关重要。例如,如果您在时效期限之后通过法庭提出索赔,可能会导致您的案件直接败诉。

 

Q: 如果我输了本应该赢的案件,该怎么办?

A: 您可以在特定的时限内提出司法复审或上诉。 如果您事先是自行处理本案,现在则应该考虑聘请律师代理进行司法复审或上诉。
 

Q: 诉讼案件通常需要多长时间正式进入法庭审理阶段?

A: 对于每种情况都是不同的。一般情况下,从提起诉讼到法庭审理阶段可能间隔几个月到几年不等。间隔期间双方会通过很多其他方式试图解决纠纷。

 

Q: 我何时应该聘请律师?

A: 无论何时,在您确认需要法庭诉讼或得知有关于您的诉讼案件时,就应该尽快获得律师建议。立刻与律师交谈可以尽快确定诉讼是否是您案子的最好选择,且有些案件的回应、诉讼时效期限非常短,可能只有几天,需要尽可能尽早寻求帮助。

 

Q: 什么是律师函(Demand Letter)?

A:律师函是指律师接受客户的委托就有关事实或法律问题进行披露、评价,进而提出要求以达到一定效果而制作、发送的专业法律文书。一般律师函中列出了案件一方对另一方的特定诉求,对于完成诉求日期的要求,以及若无法满足诉求时的进一步后果,大部分情况下进一步后果即为正式的法庭诉讼。律师函在正式法庭诉讼之前或之后其实都可以起草,但在某些情况下,采取法律行动之前发出特定格式的律师函是必要的。

 

Q: 什么是小额法庭?

A: 在BC省,小额法庭是本省省级法庭的一部分。小额法庭裁定的索赔额在$ 5,000.01至$ 35,000之间,在某些情况下,最高索赔额最多可达$ 5,000加元。

Q: 如果我收到了诉状,该怎么办?

A: 如果您收到了起诉诉状,那您极有可能已经被在法庭登记起诉了。最好的做法就是立刻联系律师获取法律建议。

 

Q: 我应该在庭外和解吗?

A: 您当然可以,并且应该选择庭外和解。有时就算有了法庭诉讼文件,庭外和解依然是问题的解决方法的一种,而且现在大多数案件在进行正式庭审前就会解决。 法庭审理本身就是一个非常漫长的过程,有时候还很难达到您最好的预期。然而,能否庭外解决也取决于双方共同是否有意愿进行谈判。

 

Q: 如果被告不答复我的诉讼状该怎么办?

A: 如果被告未能在规定时限内做出答复,并且您完全遵守了该时限成立的所有法律要求,您可以考虑申请缺席判决。

Q: 什么是民事调解庭(“CRT”)?

A: CRT是一个在线调解庭,负责处理5,000加元或以下的索赔,物业问题等等。 它提供了在线谈判的机会以及裁决和解决纠纷的可能性。 CRT可能处理的一些问题包括:

  • 债务或损害赔偿

  • 追回个人财产

  • 对追回个人财产诉求的反驳

  • 要求强制履行个人财产或服务的合同。

Civil and Commercial Litigation

We provide civil and commercial litigation services for all manner business disputes.  We successfully represented clients in matters that include:

  • oppression claims by officers, directors and shareholders

  • share valuation disputes

  • partnership disputes

  • director and officer liability claims

  • claims for breach of fiduciary duty

  • claims for breach of contract

  • fraud and conspiracy claims

  • construction and real estate litigation

  • commercial lease disputes

  • bankruptcy, insolvency and collection issues

  • injunctive relief

 

Our group is committed to finding efficient and cost-effective solutions for our clients’ problems so that they can focus on the operation and success of their businesses.

 

If you have an issue involving civil and commercial litigation please contact our litigation team.  If you would like to book an appointment with a lawyer that practices civil and commercial litigation please ask for Cameron Lee, Chen Shen, or Alfonso Chen.

 
 

Frequently asked questions

Civil Litigation

Q: What is the difference between a criminal case and a civil case?


A: In a criminal case, the Crown, represented by prosecutors, generally seeks to have a sentence imposed on one or more accused person(s). In a civil case, two or more natural or legal persons attempt to resolve disputes, either by negotiating or by relying on dispute resolution mechanisms such as litigation in courts, arbitration and mediation.




Q: What is a limitation period?


A: A limitation period restricts the amount of time you have to rely on the legal system, such as filing a lawsuit against another or enforcing a judgment. Different limitation periods are involved based on different factors, such as the party you are suing and when you first discovered the claim. It is crucial to comply with limitation periods as, for example, you could lose your case outright by having filed a claim after the limitation period.




Q: What can I do if I lost my case that I should have won?


A: It may be possible to file a judicial review or appeal if you do so within a particular timeframe. If you have been representing yourself beforehand, you should strongly consider retaining legal counsel for the judicial review or appeal.




Q: How long does it usually take for a case to go to trial?


A: Each case is different. The time between filing a claim and proceeding to trial varies between a few months and several years.




Q: How do I know when to hire a lawyer?


A: You should always speak with a lawyer about your case immediately. Some limitation periods are extremely short, such as a few days. You should also immediately speak with a lawyer to determine whether you have a case or not.




Q:  What is a demand letter?


A: A demand letter sets out certain demands, a date by which the demands must be met and a threat of litigation or further legal action if the demands are not complied with. You can send a demand letter before or after commencing legal action, though in certain cases, you are required to issue a demand letter of a particular format before commencing legal action.




Q: What is a small claims court?


A: In British Columbia, the Small Claims Court is a part of the B.C. Provincial Court adjudicating claims between $5,000.01 and $35,000 and, under certain scenarios, claims of up to $5,000.




Q: I received a Notice of Claim. Now what?


A: If you have received a Notice of Claim form, you are almost certainly being sued. You should contact a lawyer immediately.




Q: Should I settle out of court?


A: Only you can make this decision. Most cases settle before they go to trial. The trial can be a long, frustrating process. However, the drawback of negotiating is that the opposing party can choose whether or not to negotiate with you.




Q: What if the defendant does not reply to my claim?


A: If the defendant has not responded within the time limit and if you have complied with all legal requirements for that time limit to apply, you can consider seeking a default order.




Q: What is the Civil Resolution Tribunal (the “CRT”)?


A: The CRT is an online tribunal that deals with claims of $5,000 or under and many strata issues, among others. It allows for online negotiation opportunities as well as adjudication to help you settle your dispute. Some issues the CRT may deal with include: - debt or damages - recovery of personal property - opposing claims to personal property - demanding performance of an agreement about personal property or services.